Print on print on print

Yesterday I took a trip to sunny Antwerp for a pretty fantastic fabric expo. Deets here if you want ’em.
I came away with pretty much everything on my list plus a couple of extras. Including this one! I’ve never seen anything quite like it. It was a pre cut panel consisting of three mis-matched prints, two palm leaf type ones and then another white and green line drawing of a very nice looking lady making wine. I’ve actually looked it up and found that it’s a fabric produced by Knippie which is the kids version of the Dutch pattern magazine Knipmode. It’s also selling for more on the website than I paid. Phew.

I’m always up for strange fabric so I paid up €8 for the panel.
I loved how the prints clashed so I decided to keep it pretty much intact and just make a very simple skirt.
My initial idea was for it to be pleated but it wasn’t quite wide enough so I just gathered it instead.
You know how it goes – three rows of basting stitches gathered to a strip of fabric a bit bigger than your waist measurement. Waistband attached and the bit bigger becomes the overlap. Stick on a podcast and if you’re feeling fancy, finish the inside of the waistband by hand. I did just that, not because I was feeling fancy but because it was sunny on the balcony and who doesn’t love to sew and tan at the same time.

Normally I’m not a fan of this style on me because I think it tends to accentuate my hips and bum but also because I often feel too girly for comfort. This isn’t too bad though. Not too poofy.

28 degrees C today, I can cope with that!

Especially if I’m in a wood.

I’m wearing it here with a heavily modified Grainline Hemlock t-shirt in non-descript grey jersey. It actually started off as a maxi dress, then I lopped a chunk off to make a nightdress and today I chopped another few inches off as well as the sleeves and made it into a t-shirt.

In my haste to make the skirt in time for going out for lunch I forgot to interface the waistband so made do with stay tape around the top.

One admission though. I didn’t prewash the fabric. I know, I know. You’re going to put dog poo in my letter box aren’t you. I’m just crossing my fingers that it doesn’t shrink too much.

If those trees were palm trees then I would be completely invisible.

One thought on “Print on print on print

  1. Lodi says:

    What, ah, interesting fabric! I’ve never seen anything like it, although I have a shirt very much like the middle fabric!

    Like

Leave a Reply

