Ode to European pattern magazines and a new dress

It all started with Burda. The magazines were so full of patterns. They were so edgy and cool compared to everything else I’d seen. The were incredibly dense and they had the most brilliant off-kilter translations into English. The instructions were minimal at best and there were sheets and sheets of dotted lines to mine through. Compared to the seemingly ever growing selection of British sewing magazines that are expensive, thin on content and always seem to contain instructions on how to sew a doorstop, Burda was impressive. You had to work for it. It was a battle but it rewarded you like no “SEW EASY SUPER CUTE KITTY SLEEPMASK” or “NAUTICAL AND NICE SAILING BOAT DOORSTOP” ever could.
Then a whole world opened up to me. I moved to the Finnish Ottobre , the Dutch Knipmode and the frustratingly ungooglable German STYLE. Now living in Brussels there are half a dozen more that I had never even heard of and for the price of a coffee, I’m happy for hours.
img_7598
One of these new to me magazines is Belgian output La Maison Victor who produce magazines every two months and stand alone patterns too.
I bought the November/December edition just before Christmas and have just finished making the Pia Dress.
img_7596img_7595
It has a really fun neckline that isn’t all that obvious in the magazine pictures so I thought that I’d make the most of it by colour blocking – aka using up scraps. The main dress is made out of this cotton lawn that I bought in Birmingham when we went on an accidental city break there (don’t ask..)img_7594
This is about as floral as I go these days – slightly creepy dead looking flowers on a background that suggests Halloween. The accent pieces on the top are made from denim scraps that were kicking around.
Weird fold in this picture, it’s not there normallyimg_7666
I had to take a massive chunk out of the centre back which I should have predicted as I almost always have to do this with any pattern. Bad posture! #situpstraight fullsizerender-3
Look at me all girly! I’m even wearing a slip! A slip! It’s too see through otherwise. fullsizerender-1
Oh hi there sway back. I was hoping that the top detail would balance out my shape but I’ve a feeling that it may highlight how narrow my shoulders are compared to everything else. Ah well, it’s still cool.
fullsizerender-2
So I love obscure European pattern magazines almost as much as tiramisu or equality and I will continue to collect them and hope that one day my sewing will catch up to my insatiable appetite for them…fullsizerender-1

One thought on “Ode to European pattern magazines and a new dress

Comments are closed.